Woodbridge’s Exclusive Newspaper | Mailed Free | Serving Woodbridge & Bethany
Top Banner
Top Banner
Side Banner Right
Side Banner Right
Side Banner Left

Lynn Piascyk – Candidate for Woodbridge Board of Education

A resident of Woodbridge since 1964, Lynn Piascyk is a graduate of Beecher Road School and Amity Regional High School.  She continued her education earning Bachelors and Masters Degrees in Early Childhood Education as well as a 6th Year Degree of Advanced Study as a Classroom Teacher Specialist from Southern Connecticut State University.  Lynn was a beloved teacher at Beecher Road School for 36 years before retiring in 2014.

While teaching at Beecher Road School, Lynn was an active member of the Woodbridge Education Association holding the positions of President, Vice President and Secretary.  During her tenure, she acted as a Faculty Representative on Search and Interview Committees for numerous administrative and faculty positions.  She continues to be involved as an alumni member and former Chair of the WEA Scholarship Committee that presents three scholarships to Amity High School Seniors each year.  Lynn was awarded the Woodbridge Board of Education Award of Excellence for Distinguished Service and was named Woodbridge Teacher of the Year in 1993.  In 2011, she was named Educator of the Year by the Turkish Cultural Center of Connecticut.

Lynn was elected to the Woodbridge Board of Education in 2015.  She serves on the Facilities Sub-Committee, Chairs the Curriculum Sub-Committee, and has represented the Board of Education on the Class Size Ad hoc Committee, the SRO Study Committee, and the Tools for Schools Committee.  Lynn acts as BOE Liaison to Beecher’s Safety and Security Committee as well as the school’s Beautification Committee.

Lynn was previously elected to the Zoning Board of Appeals, serving for 12 years.

She was an appointed member of the Human Services Commission from 1989-2001, serving as the Commission’s secretary for 4 of those years.  Lynn has been a member of the Woodbridge Republican Town Committee since 1988 and has been a Justice of the Peace since 2001.  She is currently active on the Board of Directors of the Amity and Woodbridge Historical Society.

Related posts